Robertson the Top Terroir Wine Region in South Africa


A well-known South African wine region getting its butt kicked.
A well-known South African wine region getting its butt kicked.

Stellenbosch, the Swartland and Hemel-en-Aarde lost out as the Breederivier wine region kicked some serious butt in the world’s leading region-focussed wine competition. The passionate, terroir-driven producers in the Robertson district made an indelible mark at the 2013 Novare SA Terroir Wine Awards, with two wines in the selected SA Terroir Top 5 Estate Wines as well as five National Winners from all submissions.

The Inkara Cabernet Sauvignon 2011 and Jacques Bruére Brut Rosé 2007 from Bon Courage Estate in the Klaasvoogds area outside Robertson are two of the Top 5 Estate Wines, as well as being the National Winners for the Top Cabernet Sauvignon and the Top Sparkling Wine.

Kranskop Wines, from the Klaasvoogds ward also garnered two National Winners for the Top Viognier and Top Natural Sweet Wine, with their Kranskop Viognier 2012 and Viognier Noble Late Harvest 2011. De Wetshof, an estate in the Goudmyn area bordering Klaasvoogds clinched the National Winner for the Top Chardonnay, with the De Wetshof Bateleur 2009.

These tightly bunched cellars, with their five National Winners, thus ensured the fourth Novare Trophy for the SA Terroir Top Wine Area went to neighbouring Robertson wards of Klaasvoogds and Goudmyn.

Besides the two National Winners and two Top 5 Estate Wines from Bon Courage, the estate also won the Top Dessert Wine in the Robertson district with the White Muscadel 2012. In so doing, the Bruwer family clinched the third annual Novare Trophy for the SA Terroir Top Wine Estate.

The three other Top 5 Wine Estate Wines are the Diemersdal Eight Rows Sauvignon Blanc 2013 (Durbanville), Morgenster 2010 red blend (Stellenbosch) and the Nelson Cabernet Sauvignon Merlot 2008 (Paarl).

Cederberg Private Wine Cellar also did exceptionally well this year with National Winners for two of their Ghost Corner wines from the Elim ward near Cape Agulhas and one out of the Cederberg ward. These were Top Sauvignon Blanc for Ghost Corner Sauvignon Blanc 2011, Top Semillon for the Ghost Corner Semillon 2011 and the Top Shiraz for the Cederberg Shiraz 2010.

The other National Winners from the 271 entries for the 2013 Novare SA Terroir Wine Awards were, Wildekrans Chenin Blanc Barrel Selection Reserve 2011 (Top Chenin Blanc), Hermanuspietersfontein Die Bartho 2011 (Top White Blend), Nelson Cabernet Sauvignon/Merlot 2008 (Top Red Blend), Diemersfontein Carpe Diem Malbec 2010 (Top Malbec), Anura Pinotage Reserve 2010 (Top Pinotage), Bergsig Cape Late Bottle Vintage 2003 (Top Port) and the Nuy White Muscadel 2005 (Top Dessert Wine).

“There were no repeat winners from last year’s Top 5 Wine Estate wines, while the winners of the Novare Trophy for the Top Wine Estate and the Novare Trophy for the Top Wine Area have differed every year. This is a good representation of South Africa’s precious viticultural areas right across the Cape winelands. The Wine of Origin system is a very real part of this country’s wine culture and to be able to award the top wines which showcase a specific wine area is a privilege, as well as giving recognition to the team who with nature create these wines with such passion,” said Marius Labuschagne, founder and project leader of the Awards.

Novare CEO, Johan Henn commented that 2013 marked the eighth year that Novare has sponsored the prestigious Novare SA Terroir Wine Awards.

“We are proud to be associated with an event that has not only grown from strength to strength over the years, but that also contributes to an industry that proudly reflects the very best of what South Africa has to offer in terms of quality and creativity.

“Described as the most exclusive wine competition in the world, the Novare SA Terroir Wine Awards are indicative of South Africa’s ability to compete with the best internationally when it comes to wine of origin. This shared ‘can do’ philosophy of achieving success at the highest level is what connects Novare with the Terroir Wine Awards,” he said.

The 2013 judges were Dave Hughes, David Biggs, Guy Webber, Irina von Holdt, Karen Glanfield, Neil Ellis and Pierre Marais. The technical co-ordinator was Charl Theron.

For the full results in all areas, visit


Enjoyed this article?

Subscribe and never miss a post again.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *